Asexuals In Writing: Claudie Arseneault

Cross-post from Fuck Yeah Asexual
Viral Airwaves is on sale for a couple more days and remember this blog’s giveaway is still going!

Viral AirwavesAuthor Bio: I’m a beginning indie author in my mid-twenties, hailing from Quebec City. I write mostly fantasy and solarpunk, a very cool sci-fi subgenre for which I’ll be co-editing a nice dragon-solarpunk anthology. I published my first novel, Viral Airwaves, earlier this year. When I’m not busy writing or reading, I devote my love to science (I’m a biochemist, cells are cool), squids, and hot air balloons.

What do you identify as? I’m asexual, and somewhere on the aromantic spectrum. Exactly where, I have no idea and don’t really feel the need to know.

Do you have an asexual in your story, if so how do they identify? 
In the novel I have published right now, I don’t. Although to be honest, the MC’s experiences and the way he interacts with his love interest feel very asexual, but I think that’s because I wrote it how I felt natural. Not canon though asexual, though, and not really mentioned anywhere in the novel.
But! I’m working on a MOGAI-centric high fantasy saga right now, and there’s three of them! Nevian is a (demi)heteroromantic sex-repulsed ace, Larryn is panromantic gray asexual (in the very rarely feels attraction, but feels it strongly), and Jessana (who only appears later in the series) is biromantic asexual. No wait, four, I’m totally forgetting Cal, who’s aro-ace. So, very large crew, with a lot of ace peeps! :3

What did you want to get right about your representation? First I wanted to represent a wide variety of experiences. They’re scattered across the ace (and romantic) spectrum for that reason, among other things. Having many ace characters also helps countering stereotypes. Cal is very outgoing and friendly, whereas Nevian is an apprentice magician that really wants to do nothing more than study.

I also wanted to represent ace folk that are often kind of thrown under the bus. You see a lot of “Not all aces are self-repulsed!” and “Asexuality has nothing to do with sexual abuse!” and while yeah that’s important, I wanted aces who ARE those things or have lived those things. Having many characters really helps with that, because I can both go against the too-typical representation, and also have fully-developed characters for which elements of this “bad representation” are an integral part of their lives. The other thing is that they have different views on how important asexuality is to their lives. Larryn hasn’t even really noticed, because he has a billion things to deal with. Cal fully knows, accepts, and is proud of his lack of attractions (romantic or sexual). Nevian is weirded out and disgusted by everyone’s frequent obsession with sex. Basically what I wanted to get right was diversity even among my ace characters.

Anything else?  Gosh I’ve talked a lot about my next project today, but right now I have a solarpunk novel and its prequel novella out! The novella (The White Renegade) is totally free, so you can sample my writing in a feels-intensive story with a bisexual, albinistic hero and his agender and aromantic friend. And Viral Airwaves will be on sale from June 25th to July 10th, for 0.99$. So that’s where you can find my published writing at!

The White Renegade – AmazonElsewhere – Viral Airwaves – Amazon – Elsewhere
Stay tuned for our reviews of both!

Leave a Reply

